General Facts about the Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is a country that occupies the eastern portion of the Hispaniola island, located in the heart of the Caribbean Sea. The Dominican Republic occupies a surface of 48 315 km2 out of the total 76 480 km2 of the island, making it the second largest country of the Greater Antilles (after Cuba). The western side is occupied by another independent country, the Republic of Haiti.